The department of anaesthesia and intensive care is dedicated for safe anaesthesia and quality intensive care service. The department is also involved in conducting various academic programs. Anesthesia is a medical specialty involved in the provision of life support, insensibility to pain, both for surgical procedures and childbirth. Anaesthesia service includes preanaesthesia check up and optimization, monitored anaesthesia care, sedoanalgesia, regional anaesthesia, general anaesthesia, perioperative management, postoperative management for a variety of emergency and routine surgical and other diagnostic and therapeutic procedures. The intensive care service includes assessment and management of critically ill patients.


  1. Prof. Dr. Shanta Sapkota, Head and chief consultant anaesthesiologist
  2. Prof. Dr. Ravi Ram Shrestha, Chief consultant anaesthesiologist
  3. Associate Prof. Dr. Pradip Raj Vaidya, Anaesthesiologist
  4. Associate Prof. Dr. Bidur Kumar Baral,MD Anaesthesiologist
  5. Associate Prof. Dr.Ritu Pradhan, chief consultant anaesthesiologist
  6. Assistant Prof. Dr. Bindu Laxmi Shah, Anaesthesiologist
  7. Assistant Prof. Dr. Anuj Jung Karki, Consultant Anaesthesiologist
  8. Assistant Prof. Dr. Subash Regmi, Senior Consultant Anaesthesiologist
  9. Assistant Prof. Dr. Surendra Bhusal, Anaesthesiologist
  10. Assistant Prof. Dr. Puspa Raj Poudel, Senior Consultant Anaesthesiologist
  11. Lecturer Dr. Luna Sharma Khanal, Anaesthesiologist
  12. Lecturer Dr. Mona Rajbhandari, Anaesthesiologist
  13. Lecturer Dr. Pradip Koirala, Anaesthesiologist
  14. Dr. Gaurav Ratna Bajracharya, Anaesthesiologist
  15. Dr. Shankar Thakur, medical officer

Anaesthesia Service:

A variety of anaesthesia service is provided for emergency and routine general surgery, gastrointestinal surgery, endoscopic surgery, urosurgery, orthopaedic surgery, trauma surgery, ENT surgery, Dental and maxilla-facial surgery, Neurosurgery, Thoracic and vascular surgery, Burn and plastic surgery and Kidney Transplant surgery. Day care anaesthesia is provided for procedures line ERCP, brachytherapy, radiodiagnosis and other minor procedures. Apart from this, the department entertains emergency calls for resuscitation and CPR from different wards and units.

New ICU:

The New Intensive Care Unit (New ICU) is owned by the department and takes care of both the medical and surgical critically ill patients. This unit is currently running five beds and in near future will be increased to 13 beds with HDU facility. The unit is under the care of trained nursing staff and senior residents around the clock with qualified intensivists. There are other ICUs like Old ICU/CCU, CTVS ICU, Neuro ICU, Burn ICU where cases of respective specialty are managed and anaesthesiologists/intensivist from our department help when patients are critically ill and mechanically ventilated.


PG Program:

MD Anaesthesia: The department in coordination with the Anaesthesiology Subject Committee runs a three years postgraduate MD Anaesthesia program.

MD Internal Medicine: Residents of MD Internal Medicine are posted in New ICU for 1 month for the exposure of critically ill patients.

MD Anaesthesia (BPKIHS): MD Anaesthesia residents from BPKIHS are posted in Special OT for two weeks for the exposure of neuro-anaesthesia.

Super-specialty Program:

DM Pulmonology, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine: Residents are posted for exposure of management of critically ill patients.

Undergraduate Program:

Anaesthesia Assistant Course: The AAC Program Committee under Academic council, NAMS, runs this course. It is of one-year duration intended for previously qualified staff nurses (SN), health assistants (HA) or ophthalmic assistant (OA).


Advanced Cardiac Life Support: The department provides ACLS training to all the PG residents, which is the mandatory course of MD/MS/MDS program.

Pre-anaesthesia Check up (PAC) Clinic

Advanced Cardiac Life Support: PAC is mandatory for all patients requiring anaesthesia service. For outpatients, PAC is done every day at PAC clinic from 1200hrs to 1300hrs and 1400hrs to 1500hrs. For inpatients, PAC is done at bedside.

Postoperative Ward

Patients after surgery and anaesthesia are managed in postoperative ward where patients are continuously monitored and importance is given for optimal pain management using various techniques including epidural analgesia. There is also facility of mechanical ventilation if required.

Contact Person

Office Secretary: Mr. Sanjiv Lal Shrestha, 9841397587
Office Secretary (AAC program): Mr. Sushan Shrestha, 9843787174
NAMS, Bir Hospital